A new year and a new me!!

Hi Everyone!

Happy New Year!!

Sorry for my lack of blogging recently the whole festive period has been absolutely manic for me! I hope everyone has had an amazing Christmas and New Year with their loved ones?

Personally, I’m so glad 2016 is now over because even though I saw a lot of ups plenty of downs were included too but I’m determined more than ever now to make 2017 my year.

A few days before Christmas I became quite down and very emotional because of my disability I can’t just walk into anywhere and ask for a job because there’s a lot of components surrounding Cerebral Palsy I have to take into consideration such as personal care. You may remember me writing on my blog last year about having to leave college due to lack of funding, even though this has been a few months ago this has really knocked me for six because after completing 2 years at college you become very close with your colleagues, classmates and the overall structure of your daily routine.

Most of my days are now spent in my room on my computer trying to educate others about Cerebral Palsy, trying to watch as much Netflix as humanly possible and maintaining this blog. I also have 4 hourly visits from my carers making sure all my requirements are met. On Tuesdays I have a day out with a carer carrying out personal activities of my choice such as going out for meals, seeing family or going shopping. However, this isn’t how I imagined my twenties to be. I’m now finding I’m starting to crave going to work and enjoying new experiences.

Now, normally I don’t normally bother with New Year Resolution shit because I’m crap at keeping them anyway but here’s a few I’m desperate to maintain this year.

  • Carry out more independent living tasks. By this I mean being more responsible for my money saving and grabbing a bargain every once in a while and learning how to cook my own meals whilst under the supervision of a carer. I normally don’t have to worry about any of this as my dad cooks most of our meals but I probably won’t be living with him forever and I will eventually have to stand on my own two feet.
  • Get a job. As I mentioned up in the above leaving Blackburn College really whipped the wind from underneath my sails but from the age of 16, 17. I’ve had a very deep interest in Travel and Tourism and I studied this at Level 2 during my time at Accrington and Rossendale College back in 2013.  However, as there are so many elements  to the industry jobs in this field are very hard to come by, I would like to get a job as a travel agent or trialling out destinations and hotels for those with physical or additional disabilities as most people think because of what you have you shouldn’t have the same experiences as everyone else and I think this is unacceptable taking into consideration the amount of technology we have now so my main aim of this would be to make travel as accessible as possible.
  • Kick-start my singing career. I mentioned in my previous post I had an audition for Britain’s Got Talent. Unfortunately due to confidentiality I can’t really go into anymore detail but what I can say is please watch this space! I did meet the runner-up of last year’s show an incredible guy named Wayne Woodward and he said I could go to his home because he has a recording studio so Wayne if you’re reading please let’s do this!! I would love to record with Craig David too as his voice just blows me away every time. I have also applied for the next series of X Factor too so please keep your eyes peeled!
  • Go to more parties. Normally I love chilling out in my pyjamas watching TV but every time I log onto Facebook my friends are asking each other ‘do you want to go out this weekend?’. As I said there are a lot of things around my disability I have to think about but it isn’t cool when you have to go out with  mum or dad especially if you’re nearly 23 this year so I really need to start letting my hair down and interacting with peers my own age.

So here are my goals for 2017. It’s going to be a fantastic year.

A massive Thank You to all of you for your continued support with this blog.

Last year my blog reached 500+views which absolutely blew me away. Without your support I wouldn’t have the balls to keep increasing awareness of Cerebral Palsy and getting rid of any nasty stigma so please keep commenting  or sharing away via the comments section on my blog or Twitter . If you would like to ask any questions please e-mail me at francescadean@hotmail.com.

Sending hugs to each and every one of you.

Francesca X

Leave a Reply

