World Prematurity Day, World Toilet Day and some very exciting news!!

Hello everyone!!

I hope everybody’s having a delightful week?…

I’ve realised I missed a few very important days in my calendar, but better late than never!! In tonight’s blog I wanted to give you all my spin on these very important awareness days and why it’s so important to speak out.

World Prematurity Day took place this year on November 17th, and for me it’s one of the most poignant yet, as it allows us to celebrate the lives of truly remarkable people who despite being at a low birth weight and having very slim chances of survival, they have refused to let anything stop them. However, on the flip side of the coin, others are not so lucky.

World Prematurity Day… A few facts

  • Right now, 15 million babies around the world are born prematurely. The sad reality is 1 million children will not survive. Prematurity is the leading cause of death in children under 5. As I write this now a further 29 babies will enter the world prematurely.
  • Prematurity occurs when the birth of a baby arrives around the 37th week of pregnancy or after mum’s last menstrual cycle.
  • Smoking, Diabetes, Obesity, Drugs, and high blood pressure all increase the likelihood of premature birth as well as pre-eclampsia.
  • Just recently a new hospital approach named family centred care has been put into action designed to increase babies survival rate and reduce the chances of expectant mothers suffering from mental health conditions or post-natal depression. These problems are very prominent when a baby has a short or long term stay on a neonatal ward.
  • New statistics have also shown that many parents say that they don’t know how to play an emotional role when their baby is attached to tubes and wires. I find this absolutely heart-breaking because you’ve carried and created a new life in 9 months  and it all comes as part of the circle of life. The pregnancy and birth should be an amazing experience for the whole family regardless of your baby’s future.

I have a huge smile on my face as I write this next bit.

This may be a cliché but when I look back on the incredible things I’ve achieved in 22 years it gives me immense pleasure to say that I am a miracle baby who defied doctors odds straightaway, but this isn’t all down to me however, my parents have been massive towers of strength and are still allowing me to thrive and live life to the full.

Yes, prematurity does turn your life upside down because as a result I developed Cerebral Palsy but this has been in my opinion,  the best outcome because I’ve taken it upon myself to start this blog and document my spin on living with a physical condition but for me to write posts, get amazing comments on social media and watch the statistics rise. There aren’t enough words for me to summarise what this feels like. If you are going through a premature pregnancy or you’ve just given birth to a beautiful bundle of joy but you need some extra guidance please don’t bury your head in the sand.

Now… onto my next topic. World Toilet Day. This took place on November 19th and it’s designed to open our eyes about poor sanitation and to raise awareness for people who alarmingly don’t have access to toilets despite clean water. Using a toilet is a basic human right and it’s something we all take for granted and I think it’s absolutely horrendous because we now live in a world where everything is full of technology.

A few facts…

  • 1000 innocent children die from preventable diarrhoeal diseases due to poor sanitation and lack of clean drinking water as well as extremely poor hygiene.
  • Low sanitation heightens the risk of disease and malnutrition especially in women and children.
  • 2.4 billion people (1/3 of our population do not have access to basic toilets but sanitation has improved.
  • 1 in 7 people have no unprecedented access to a toilet. Disgustingly,  they have to do their business out in the open.

What does World Toilet Day and Cerebral Palsy have in common? Well, even though I don’t come from a very poor country  I think speak for everyone when I say that toileting is one of the most common issues with CP because with the condition there are many varying severities so everyone’s different, but shopping centres and major attractions really do need to pay attention to the bigger picture  because their idea of an accessible toilet is a poky room with a toilet, sink and a hand rail but there is so much more to the spectrum than meets the eye.

Due to additional difficulties, through no fault of their own some wheelchair users have to wear products to help with this issue but what’s really needed is a fully accessible changing bed because personal care involves real intimacy and when this arises those who have physical disabilities need to be treated with the respect and dignity they so rightly deserve.

My final bit of news this week. After loving music and singing forever I have plucked up the courage to go on Britain’s Got Talent!! I’m still waiting on my audition details but as soon as I hear anything I promise you guys will be the first to know. After some very surprising reactions from my family they’ve been very supportive and for that I am so grateful. To get a head start I have been doing vocal warm ups and lessons The training is intense but I know it’ll all be so worth it.

There are no words to describe how I feel how about taking on the next part of my journey because this will change mine and my families’ life massively. The process is quite lengthy though because you have to see the producers first. If successful you see the judges and perform in front of 1000’s of people. I have decided to sing ‘I’ll Stand By You’ performed by Girls Aloud. I’m just praying I don’t get buzzed by any of the judges but what I really do want is the golden buzzer!!

As a little treat here is a video of me performing ‘Jealous’ by Labyrinth’. This song was performed again by last year’s X Factor contestant Josh Daniel!! I hope you like it! https://twitter.com/pwincessfran/status/799365417231859713

I hope you’ve enjoyed tonight’s blog!

Francesca X

 

 

Leave a Reply

